Podcast Resources

EP 1: Systemic Inequality and The Carceral State:

Local & National Organizations:

Direct Action for Rights and Equality (DARE/ Behind the Walls): https://www.daretowin.org/

The Formerly Incarcerated Union (FIU): https://www.facebook.com/FormerlyIncarceratedUnionRI/

OpenDoors RI: http://www.opendoorsri.org/

Providence Student Union: https://www.pvdstudentunion.org/

RI Center for Justice: https://centerforjustice.org/

JustLeadershipUSA: https://jlusa.org/

The Nonviolence Institute: https://www.nonviolenceinstitute.org/

For Reading/ Viewing/ Listening:

Angela Davis -“Are Prisons Obsolete?” (Book)

Alex Vitale – “The End of Policing” (Book)

Ibrham X. Kehndi – “How to Be Anti-Racist” (Book)

Kimberly Crenshaw et. al – “Seeing Race Again” (Book)

Bryan Stevenson – “Just Mercy” (Book)

Layla Saad -“Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World and Become a Good Ancestor” (Books)

Eve Tuck, “Suspending Damage: A Letter to Communities” http://pages.ucsd.edu/~rfrank/class_web/ES-114A/Week%204/TuckHEdR79-3.pdf

Medium.com “Confessions of a Former Bastard Cop” – Officer A. Cab https://medium.com/@OfcrACab/confessions-of-a-former-bastard-cop-bb14d17bc759

“Transformative Justice: A Brief Description” -Mia Mingus https://transformharm.org/transformative-justice-a-brief-description/

“What is Restorative Justice?” https://www.d.umn.edu/~jmaahs/Correctional%20Assessment/rj%20brief.pdf

Mapping Violence (Project Founded by Brown University American Studies Professor Monica Martinez) –https://mappingviolence.com/

Mapping Police Violence – https://mappingpoliceviolence.org/

The 1619 Project –https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/14/magazine/1619-america-slavery.html

Report of the Brown University Steering Committee on Slavery and Justice (For Context on the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade’s Rhode Island Origins) – https://www.brown.edu/Research/Slavery_Justice/documents/SlaveryAndJustice.pdf

“The Breakdown” -Shaun King’s Podcast https://www.thenorthstar.com/listen-the-breakdown-with-shaun-king/

“Seeing White” NPR Podcast http://www.sceneonradio.org/episodes/

“How do Police Actually Spend their Time?” – Jeff Asher and Ben Horwitz https://www.nytimes.com/2020/06/19/upshot/unrest-police-time-violent-crime.html

The Marshall Project – https://www.themarshallproject.org/

“Abolition is Not a Suburb” -Tamara K. Nopper – https://thenewinquiry.com/abolition-is-not-a-suburb/

“Understanding the Role of Police Towards Abolition: On Black Death as an American Necessity, Abolition, Non-violence, and Whiteness” -Joshua Briond https://www.hamptonthink.org/read/understanding-the-role-of-police-towards-abolitionism-on-black-death-as-an-american-necessity-abolition-non-violence-and-whiteness

Ruthie Gilmore: “The Pandemic is a Portal” https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=246542600083107

“13th” -Netflix Documentary – https://www.netflix.com/title/80091741

EP 2: Affordable Housing

Local Organizations:

Direct Action for Rights and Equality (Tenant and Homeowners Association): https://www.daretowin.org/

Tenant Network RI: https://www.facebook.com/TenantNetworkRI/

Rhode Island Coalition for the Homeless: https://www.rihomeless.org/

Housing Network of Rhode Island: http://www.housingnetworkri.org/sub_housing_files/housingnetwork.html

Housing Works RI: https://www.housingworksri.org/

National Low Income Housing Coalition -Rhode Island Chapter: https://nlihc.org/housing-needs-by-state/rhode-island

For Reading / Viewing:

Housing Works RI: Housing Works Factbook https://www.housingworksri.org/Housing-Affordability/Myths-vs-Facts

“Gentrification’s Third Way: An Analysis of Housing & Gentrification in Providence”: https://harvardlpr.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/20/2013/05/3.2_9_Jerzyk.pdf

“Providence Lost” Documentary: http://evicted-in-ri.com/#/providencelost

EP 3: Imperialism, US Empire, Migration Patterns, and Intersectional Perspectives

Local & National Organizations:

Alliance to Mobilize for our Resistance (A.M.O.R.): https://amorri.org/

DORCAS International: https://diiri.org/

Refugee Dream Center: http://www.refugeedreamcenter.org/

Progreso Latino: https://progresolatino.org/

Immigration Coalition of Rhode Island: https://www.immigrantcoalitionri.org/

Reading Resources

Erica Lee – “America for Americans” (Book)

EP 4: Cape Verdean History

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: